Major League Baseball’s arbitration deadline comes at 1 p.m. ET today. Teams and their arbitration-eligible players need to exchange proposed salaries for the 2018 season in preparation for a potential hearing, in which a panel of arbitrators decides between the two figures.

But most scheduled hearings will never happen, as players and their teams can continue negotiating and often settle on one-year contracts prior to sitting down in front of the arbitrators. Several big names have already reached deals and avoided arbitration, including A’s outfielder Khris Davis and Indians closer Cody Allen.

Generally, players gain arbitration eligibility after logging three years of Major League service. They then go through the process until signing a long-term deal or reaching free agency after six years of service. A select group of “Super Two” players, who meet certain criteria, gain eligibility after two-plus years of service and then have arbitration rights for four years instead of the usual three.

As the settlements come in, is tracking the players who avoid arbitration right here. All contracts are for one year unless otherwise noted. Some of these deals are based on sources or reports and have not been confirmed by the clubs. Click through on the “More” links for details.


• C Martin Maldonado (final year): $3.9 million
• RHP Blake Parker (first year): $1.8 million
• LHP Andrew Heaney (Super Two): $800,000
• RHP Blake Wood (final year): $1.45 million
Remaining eligibles: Garrett Richards, Matt Shoemaker, Tyler Skaggs, C.J. Cron, Jose Alvarez, Cam Bedrosian

• OF Jake Marisnick (first year): $1.9 million More >
Remaining eligibles: Dallas Keuchel, George Springer, Evan Gattis, Collin McHugh, Brad Peacock, Ken Giles, Lance McCullers Jr.

• OF Khris Davis (second year): $10.5 million More >
• RHP Chris Hatcher (second year): $2.15 million
Remaining eligibles: Marcus Semien, Kendall Graveman, Blake Treinen, Liam Hendriks, Jake Smolinski, Josh Phegley

Blue Jays
• OF Ezequiel Carrera (second year): $1.9 million
• LHP Aaron Loup (final year): $1.8125 million
Remaining eligibles: Josh Donaldson, Marcus Stroman, Kevin Pillar, Aaron Sanchez, Roberto Osuna, Devon Travis

• RHP Cody Allen (final year): $10.575 million More >
• RHP Zach McAllister (final year): $2.45 million More >
Remaining eligibles: Trevor Bauer, Danny Salazar, Lonnie Chisenhall

• C Mike Zunino (first year): $2.975 million More >
Remaining eligibles: James Paxton, Erasmo Ramirez, David Phelps, Nick Vincent

Remaining eligibles: Manny Machado, Zach Britton, Brad Brach, Jonathan Schoop, Kevin Gausman, Caleb Joseph, Tim Beckham

• OF Ryan Rua (Super Two): $870,000 More >
Remaining eligibles: Jake Diekman, Keone Kela, Jurickson Profar

Remaining eligibles: Alex Colome, Adeiny Hechavarria, Brad Miller, Corey Dickerson, Jake Odorizzi, Steven Souza Jr., Dan Jennings, Jesus Sucre, Matt Duffy

Red Sox
• RHP Steven Wright (first year): $1.1 million More >
• RHP Carson Smith (first year): $850,000 More >
• RHP Tyler Thornburg (second year): $2.05 million
Remaining eligibles: Mookie Betts, Jackie Bradley Jr., Xander Bogaerts, Sandy Leon, Christian Vazquez, Brock Holt, Joe Kelly, Drew Pomeranz, Eduardo Rodriguez, Brandon Workman

Remaining eligibles: Kelvin Herrera, Brandon Maurer, Nate Karns

• C James McCann (first year): $2.375 million More >
Remaining eligibles: Jose Iglesias, Nicholas Castellanos, Shane Greene, Blaine Hardy, Alex Wilson

• IF Eduardo Escobar (final year): $4.85 million More >
Remaining eligibles: Kyle Gibson, Ryan Pressly, Trevor May, Ehire Adrianza, Robbie Grossman

White Sox
• RHP Danny Farquhar (first year): $1.05 million More >
Remaining eligibles: Jose Abreu, Avisail Garcia, Carlos Rodon, Leury Garcia, Luis Avilan, Yolmer Sanchez

• RHP Tommy Kahnle (first year): $1.3125 million More >
• OF Aaron Hicks (second year): $2.825 million More >
Remaining eligibles: Sonny Gray, Dellin Betances, Chasen Shreve, Adam Warren, Didi Gregorius, Austin Romine


• LHP Sam Freeman (first year): $1.075 million More >
Remaining eligibles: Mike Foltynewicz, Arodys Vizcaino, Dan Winkler

• C Stephen Vogt (second year): $3.065 million More >
• RHP Jeremy Jeffress (second year): $1.75 million
Remaining eligibles: Corey Knebel, Jimmy Nelson, Jonathan Villar, Hernan Perez

Remaining eligibles: Kris Bryant, Kyle Hendricks, Addison Russell, Tommy La Stella, Justin Wilson, Justin Grimm

• OF Randal Grichuk (first year): $2.6 million More >
Remaining eligibles: Marcell Ozuna, Michael Wacha, Tyler Lyons

• RHP Randall Delgado (final year): Undisclosed amount More >
• LHP Patrick Corbin: $7.5 million More >
Remaining eligibles: Shelby Miller, Nick Ahmed, Chris Owings, A.J. Pollock, David Peralta, Taijuan Walker, Andrew Chafin, Robbie Ray, Brad Boxberger, Chris Herrmann, Jake Lamb

• C Yasmani Grandal (final year): $7.9 million More >
• RHP Pedro Baez (first year): $1.5 million More >
Remaining eligibles: Alex Wood, Tony Cingrani, Josh Fields, Joc Pederson, Kiké Hernandez

Remaining eligibles: Joe Panik, Sam Dyson, Hunter Strickland, Cory Gearrin, Will Smith

Remaining eligibles: J.T. Realmuto, Justin Bour, Miguel Rojas, Dan Straily, Derek Dietrich

• RHP Matt Harvey: $5.625 million
Remaining eligibles: Jacob deGrom, Noah Syndergaard, Jeurys Familia, Zack Wheeler, Travis d’Arnaud, Wilmer Flores, AJ Ramos, Hansel Robles

Remaining eligibles: Anthony Rendon, Tanner Roark, Michael A. Taylor

• RHP Carter Capps (second year): $1.06 million More >
Remaining eligibles: Brad Hand, Cory Spangenberg, Kirby Yates, Matt Szczur, Freddy Galvis

• C Cameron Rupp (first year): $2.05 million More >
Remaining eligibles: Maikel Franco, Cesar Hernandez, Luis Garcia

Remaining eligibles: Gerrit Cole, Felipe Rivero, Jordy Mercer, George Kontos

Remaining eligibles: Billy Hamilton, Scooter Gennett, Anthony DeSclafani, Eugenio Suarez, Michael Lorenzen

• LHP Chris Rusin (first year): $1.2875 million
Remaining eligibles: Charlie Blackmon, DJ LeMahieu, Chad Bettis

David Adler is a reporter for based in New York. Follow him on Twitter at @_dadler.

This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.

Source link